Cooking for a crowd: 2 minute, 24 hour pasta (AKA the easiest baked penne you’ll ever make!)

I got a text from my friend’s boyfriend last week asking my attendance at a surprise 40th birthday party for her.   And, could I also bring a casserole for 12?  Sure, why not.  I can throw something together.  It didn’t take much Googling to find a list of casseroles on Cooking Light’s website, including this one.  It couldn’t be easier, and you don’t even have to cook the pasta!  I’ll definitely be making this again the next time I have to feed a crowd.

I followed the recipe as written but with the following changes:

1.  I had about a cup left of my edamame pesto, so I added that in with the pasta sauce.

2.  I forgot to spray the baking dish before adding the pasta.  But no worry, the pasta didn’t stick anyways, so I would say you can skip that step if you have no cooking spray around.

3.  This isn’t a change so much, but I figured that 2 jars of pasta sauce at the store would be close enough to 7.5 cups, since a quart is four cups and pasta jars are close to a quart in size.  So I didn’t bother measuring out the sauce, I just used two jars worth!

wpid-img_20140426_170126_466.jpg

Recipe: 2 Minute, 24 Hour Casserole

2 thoughts on “Cooking for a crowd: 2 minute, 24 hour pasta (AKA the easiest baked penne you’ll ever make!)

Leave a Reply

