Cooking from my Cookbooks: Edamame pesto with Asparagus

I confess, I have been slacking on my “Cooking from my Cookbooks” series, but I’m here to rectify that.  While I was on my vacation, I browsed my kindle cookbooks (I have quite a few now…at least six) for four recipes–two to catch up on for March, where I did not cook anything from my cookbooks, and two for April, to get me back on track.

This recipe comes from the 30-Minute Suppers e-book put out by America’s Test Kitchen.  At such a low price point, it’s a  pretty short cookbook, but there’s enough interesting and fast ideas in there that I found a few things that piqued my interest.  I chose this Edamame pesto with Asparagus because I have had this bag of frozen edamame in my freezer since….well, at least 2013 and possibly even 2012!  Why I bought it, I don’t know.  I bought it with nothing in mind other than “Edamame! fun!” and then never came up with a use.  Also this leads me into admitting for the past two weeks I’ve actually planned out my dinners in advance, and made shopping lists based off them.  I’ve saved myself money by not buying excess stuff, and planned things that used up stuff that’s been in the freezer or pantry for a while.  It’s also made dinner prep go much faster, because I already know exactly what the game plan is every night.  Why haven’t I done this before!?

This pesto is FANTASTIC.  I’ll be buying frozen edamame again….and this time it’ll get used up fast.  It doesn’t change the flavor IMO, but it makes for a creamier, thicker pesto than usual.

wpid-img_20140424_201420_484.jpg

8 oz frozen edamame, thawed

1 cup each of: parsley, basil, cilantro

1/2 C pine nuts

1/3 C grated parmesan (but you should add more!  I’m going to note that I got Parmigiano Reggiano aka the “real stuff” at Mariano’s for $15 a pound, which is unheard-of cheap for Chicago)

1 garlic clove

2 T lemon juice

1/4 C olive oil

1 lb asparagus

1 package fresh pasta

Blend the edamame through olive oil in a food processor.

Boil water, add the asparagus, then when that’s almost done, add the pasta to finish both at the same time.  Making sure to reserve the cooking water, strain the pasta over a bowl.

Put the pesto in a saucepan, and stir in the reserved cooking water til you reach your desired consistency.  Then add back your pasta/asparagus and toss to coat.

Enjoy!!

5 thoughts on “Cooking from my Cookbooks: Edamame pesto with Asparagus

  1. Pingback: Cooking for a crowd: 2 minute, 24 hour pasta (AKA the easiest baked penne you’ll ever make!) | 8littlepaws

Leave a Reply

