High Five for Friday: Food Style

I was thinking this Friday would be as good a time as any to showcase some of my favorite culinary links.  These are all links that I use frequently and have influenced my cooking style.

1. The Secret of Great Bread: Let Time Do The Work

It’s hard to believe it’s been seven years since the winter this recipe was published in the Times.  It was nearly impossible to read a cooking website without seeing no-knead bread featured during that winter.  I still make it all the time, and I still run into people who are new to it.  This is probably one of the least fussy bread recipes I’ve ever seen, and I’ve never had it come out flawed. I recommend it to anyone who wants a good crusty loaf of bread like what you’d get at a nice restaurant.

2.  SB Canning Homemade

Want to can the basics like jam, whole fruits, pickles, and tomatoes?  Want to go all out and can full meals, soups, and stews?   From the most basic water bath canning for beginners to long-term pressure canning, this site has it all.  I prefer it to the Ball site, and that’s saying something.

3. Ice Cream Recipe Creator from Fine Cooking

I LOVE this.  Take the basic technique, infuse, add, and mix in ingredients to generate your own custom ice cream recipe.  I have made some awesome ice creams with this–have fun!  Maybe I’ll make some soon….it will be a high of 40-something soon, time to break out the suntan lotion and beach hats, right?

4.

I know, I know, I talk about Fitness Blender a lot on here.  But remember, I live in  city where the weather is barely above freezing on a good day, our sidewalks and streets are caked with ice and snow, and I mostly rely on trains and buses to get around.  Going to the gym is a pain in the ass this time of year.  I’m one week in on my 8-week workout plan for busy people and so far I really love it!  I’ve been eating pretty healthily too to go along with it.  This video helped me visualize all the stuff I’ve read about healthy eating.  When I go to the grocery store now, I think to myself, “Was this on Kelli and Daniel’s table?”

5. How to make a Shrub Syrup

Shrubs are a mix of vinegar, fruit, and sugar that you combine with sparkling water or booze to create a tart, fruity beverage.  I made a strawberry ginger one and a raspberry one this past summer, and I’ve been treating myself to them this past fall and winter.  I particularly loved the strawberry ginger and I plan on making homemade ginger ale soon.  Ginger ale/beer is one of my absolute favorite drinks!

I hope you liked these high five for friday recipes!  Enjoy your weekend!

4 thoughts on “High Five for Friday: Food Style

Leave a Reply

