Cooking from my Cookbooks: Tagine of Yam, Shallots, Carrots and Prunes

The second recipe of February comes from Tagines by Ghillie Basan.  Back in the days of yore before Amazon Prime I used to add cheap cookbooks to my orders to get them high enough for free shipping, if I was $5 or so away from that goal.  That’s how I picked this up–but I was also interested in the recipes, as I own nothing else Moroccan.

To cook a tagine, you don’t need the vessel of the same name.  I went with a medium sized cast iron dutch oven….I have a tagine from World Market but I read reviews of people who tried to cook with it and it did not go well.

This is a very thin cookbook coming in at under 70 pages. The recipes are meat-centered for the most part, with lots of lamb and fish recipes.  This vegetarian one caught my eye and it’s the first recipe I have made from this book.

Tagine of Shallot, Yam, Carrot, and Prunes

2-3 T olive oil with a pat of butter

1.5 inch piece of ginger, grated or finely chopped

1-2 cinnamon sticks or 1-2 t ground cinnamon

about 16 small shallots, peeled and chopped in half (or quarters if you can’t get small shallots)

1.75 lbs yam or sweet potato, in bite sized chunks

2 medium carrots, in bite sized chunks

3/4 C pitted prunes, coarsely chopped

1 T honey

2 C stock, chicken or vegetable

Cilantro and mint, for garnish

Heat the olive oil and butter in your cooking vessel of choice and add ginger and cinnamon.  Add the shallots and brown them.  Add the yams and carrots.  After 2 minutes, add the prunes and honey.  Then add stock and boil.

Reduce heat and cook for 25 minutes.  Stir in some of the cilantro and mint.  Add salt and pepper if desired, and cook down any remaining stock until the sauce is thick and sticky.  Serve over couscous and garnish with remaining herbs.

2 thoughts on “Cooking from my Cookbooks: Tagine of Yam, Shallots, Carrots and Prunes

Leave a Reply

