February Books

I read four books in February–two fiction and two non-fiction.  Let’s begin:

Dollarocracy_cover

Dollarocracy: How the Money and Media Election Complex is Destroying America, John Nichols and Robert W. McChesney

Dollarocracy tells the details behind campaign financing–from the Supreme Court rulings on campaign spending, to the advertising agencies creating campaign ads, to the television stations receiving enormous revenues, and how this affects the tenure of elected officials.  For me, some of it felt dry (for example, the legal stuff started to lose me a bit) but I certainly got a lot from this book.  I’d recommend it, with the caveat that you may find yourself skipping chapters that lose your interest.  It’s worth it–you’ll still get something new out of it.

bulletpark

Bullet Park, John Cheever

I picked this up at a used book sale nearly two years ago and finally had time to pick it up.  Are you a fan of Mad Men?  This book, set in suburban 1960s New York, could run parallel to Don and Betty Draper.  It’s dry, dark humor which gets more creepy as it goes on.  It’s the story of two men, with the last names of Hammer and Nailles, with a climactic interaction at the end.  The story of how in that time and place, a man’s duty and a man’s desires were at great odds.   It’s a quick read, and I can’t remember anything else quite like it.

18061791

Timebound (The Chronos Files), Rysa Walker

This book was a blast.  A seventeen year old girl learns the gift of time travel was passed down to her from her grandmother and she has to travel time to stop her grandfather and aunt from using a cult to take over the world.  PLEASE let there be a sequel to this!  This was the YA fiction I needed, to take the sting of Allegiant out of my mind.

june

To the End of June: The Intimate Life of American Foster Care, Cris Beam

Oh my goodness.  I read this in 24 hours.  Cris Beam tells the story of a great number of foster care youth, foster parents, adoptive parents, and birth parents.  It’s completely compelling and unpredictable.  Honestly, of all the books I’ve posted year to date, (I know, only two months! but still) this is the must-read one.  I work for an agency that funds education for youth ages 17-21 for wards of the state so when she gets to the part about youth aging out, I could really see how what she wrote about is reflected in the youth serviced by my agency.  The subjects of this book are treated with compassion by the author, and it’s a book I won’t forget.

Total books read in 2014: 7

2 thoughts on “February Books

  1. You read Divergent, right? If you liked Divergent you will like Timebound as well I think! It’s not the best book as far as character development goes, but it’s fun enough that I didn’t care!

Leave a Reply

