Cooking from my Cookbooks: Korean Short Ribs in the Crockpot

Even though I didn’t get around to posting this til February, I made this on January 31, meaning I did get two recipes from my cookbooks during January as was my goal!

This recipe came from The Great American Slow Cooker Book.  This cookbook just came out the first week of January and I have seen so much in it that interests me.  A lot of it looks really easy, and none of it uses prepared foods like cream of whatever soup etc.

I went with a short rib recipe because I’m in a meat CSA with a local farmer.  What that means is I paid him up front for a delivery once a month of various chicken, pork, and beef products from his farm.  He pasture raises his animals and avoids unnecesssary antibiotics.  The prices you’ll pay through the CSA are less than what you’ll pay an independent farmer if you’re placing a specific order through him/her, partially  because you don’t get to pick what you’re ordering.  So every month when I get my meat delivery it’s a surprise.  In January I happened to get short ribs, and I was thrilled because I really, really like short ribs!  I had nearly everything I needed for the recipe in the house already.

For a two person serving, with two pounds of short ribs, you’ll need

1/4 C soy sauce

1/4 C brown sugar

1 T sesame oil

1.5 T finely chopped ginger

2 t finely chopped garlic

1 T rice vinegar

.5 T sambal oelek

garnish: green onions, sesame seeds

throw everything in with the short ribs (except the garnish) into a small slow cooker (no larger than a 3.5 quart machine) and cook on low 8 hours.  Garnish with garnishes!  And don’t skip that step–the crunch of the onions and sesame seeds really complimented the soft ribs.  I served it over rice.

wpid-IMG_20140131_184313_539.jpg

I can’t recommend this cook book enough.  No, it doesn’t have pictures.  Yes, it has hundreds of excellent, from scratch crock pot recipes scaled to fit a variety of slow cooker sizes.   I own the Kindle version, there is a paper version too as well as a Nook version.

For my February cooking from my cookbooks series, I plan on hitting my Tagines cookbook which I’ve yet to use, ever, and also something from America’s Best Lost Recipes. Time to go plan!

3 thoughts on “Cooking from my Cookbooks: Korean Short Ribs in the Crockpot

  1. Yes and this is super easy because you really don’t need to do much prep work at all. I got it together the morning of in about 10 minutes. If you have a kindle or nook you can actually borrow this cookbook through CPL, I saw it in their digital collection when I was browsing the other day.

Leave a Reply

