Recipes: Potato and Sausage Bake

One of the awesome things about where I work is my coworkers are all into cooking as much as I am.  Every time one of us finds a good recipe, we share the link with each other.  Sharon forwarded me this Potato Kielbasa Skillet recipe along with a raving review.  I kept it thinking it sounded pretty good.

The night I made this, the polar vortex had made its second arrival in Chicago.  Oh Lord Help Me am I sick and tired of Chicago winters.  This one has been the worst I can remember since I moved here back in 2002.  Anyways, when it only reaches a high of around 2 degrees with strong wind gusts, I am not about to leave to the store to buy anything.  Therefore, I tweaked the recipe to suit the ingredients I had and how I like to cook.

wpid-IMG_20140127_201841_164.jpg

I had two large Polish sausages that I received in last month’s meat CSA from Farmer Nick, so I thought tonight was perfect to try out this recipe.  Here’s how I made mine:

7 medium sized butterball potatoes, cubed into bite sized chunks

1/2 onion, cubed into bite size chunks

2 Polish sausages, sliced to approximate the size of the potatoes you just cut

olive oil for drizzling

2 T brown sugar

2 T cider vinegar

1 T dijon mustard

approx 1 t thyme (didn’t measure this, just eyeballed)

Preheat oven to 425.  Put the onion, potato, and sausage on a foil lined baking tray and drizzle with olive oil, cook til done, but check it around 20 minutes.

While it’s cooking, combine the brown sugar, cider vinegar, mustard, and thyme over low heat.

Add the contents of your baking tray, once cooked, to the skillet that has your brown sugar/cider vinegar/etc. mixture and toss it all together to coat.

Eat and enjoy.  My BF J. really loved this!  I did too.  I didn’t even notice that the recipe called for bacon until I started this post, I didn’t have it anyways but if I did it would have sent this recipe over the top!  The original recipe has you cook the potatoes in the microwave–I hate using the microwave so I skipped this.  I threw it all in the oven because I love using the oven when I cook, moreso than standing over the stove top.  It means that once I’m done prepping the food and I throw it in the oven I can take time to do other things while dinner cooks.

Anyways this is another one of those low effort weeknight dinners.  I hope you make this and enjoy it as much as we did!  I’ll make it again for sure.

2 thoughts on “Recipes: Potato and Sausage Bake

Leave a Reply

