Cooking from my cookbooks: Minced pork and sour beans

One of my goals for 2014 is to cook from my cookbooks more often.  I neglected them a lot during 2012 and 2013, mostly because they were packed up during my floor renovations, which I have posted about before.  I’m thinking cooking from them twice a month is doable.  This time I ended up making the minced pork and sour beans from Cooking for Two.  I strongly recommend this cookbook for people who cook for one or two regularly.  It’s been a workhorse in my kitchen.

To be honest, I didn’t even notice this particular recipe when I was flipping through the book, ever, and I’ve owned this book for years and years now.  I’m a fan of the knitting and crochet site, Ravelry, and the forums on Rav extend well beyond just fiberwork.  I participate in the crockpot cooking section of the forum, as does Bruce Weinstein, one of the authors of Cooking for Two (He’s also got a new crockpot cookbook out now, which is really excellent, but I’ll post about that more later).  Bruce said this was one of his favorite recipes, and well, shit, he wrote the book,  so I thought I’d give it a try.

wpid-IMG_20140119_211019_649.jpg

It’s great!  And makes just enough for two filling servings.

1.5-2 C approx rice vinegar

1/3 lb Chinese long beans, or green beans, cut into small pieces, about a quarter inch

2 T Peanut oil

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 T minced ginger

1 t red pepper flakes

1/2 lb ground pork

2 T soy sauce

Simmer the vinegar in a saucepan and cook the beans, covered, for two minutes.  Drain the beans and discard the vinegar, but don’t rinse the beans once drained.

In a wok, heat the oil, garlic, ginger, pepper for a minute.  Add the pork, cook through, about 4 minutes.  Add the beans, cook another minute.  Add the soy sauce, cook another minute.  Serve with rice.

One thought on “Cooking from my cookbooks: Minced pork and sour beans

Leave a Reply

