How I spent my Thanksgiving Weekend

What a great four days!  I already posted about my holiday, so here I’ll get into the rest of my weekend:

Canning:
wpid-IMG_20131201_161525_707.jpg
I canned four pints of great northern beans and two pints of apple pie filling using this recipe.

Knitting:

I’m almost finished with the Delancy Sweater!  Just working on the collar.  I’d post a pic…but it looks like a big ball of blah right now while it’s still on the needles.  But I think I’ll have it finished in the next week or so.  I’ve also got another sweater I need to weave ends in on which I’ll do this week too.  Finally, when Delancey is finished I have another cardigan that is about 98% done that I’ll wrap up before starting anything new.  And once the two cardigans are done, I’ll have to head up to Vogue Fabrics in Evanston to pick out buttons.

Home Renovation:

wpid-IMG_20131128_135943_011.jpg

I had J  and his brother bring up my new bathroom vanity on Thanksgiving prior to dinner.  I need to buy a faucet for it still.

wpid-IMG_20131130_105128_874.jpg wpid-IMG_20131201_161539_469.jpg

Also, I got sick of my mantel and built in shelves, so I painted the built ins with a washed out grey and ripped out the mantel.  Here’s the in progress shot–I believe I can use the underside of the mantel as I build something new, as it’s good quality oak plywood.

TV:

I’ve been watching Louie, Portlandia, and Archer lately.  This is because they’re all on Netflix and I’m planning on canceling Netflix once I’ve watched all I want to watch on there.  So much of what Netflix offers is the same as Amazon Prime, so I don’t really see a need to keep both.  Just recently I realized my gym has wireless, so I can bring my Kindle in there and stream episodes for an hour while on the elliptical!  So far I think Archer’s my favorite, but there are times I absolutely crack up at Louie.  My favorite so far: “At 42 I finally have the body that I want.  The trick is, you have to want a shitty body.”

Movies:

I watched a boatload of movies this weekend.

Sharknado

Sharknado

The ending is amazing.  That is all.  Streaming via Amazon Prime.

Jug Face

Jug

This is the actual description from Amazon Prime: “Jug Face tells the story of a pregnant teen trying to escape a backwoods community when she discovers that she may be sacrificed to a creature in a pit.” I decided that was perfect post-turkey dinner watching on Thursday.  Also watched Sharknado on Thanksgiving.  Who needs Charlie Brown, can I get a witness?

Frances Ha

Frances

This reminded me so much of Greta Gerwig’s Lola Versus but I much preferred this one.  It’s partly a story of how the main character, Frances, struggles to find her footing, and partly a story of her relationship with her best friend.  It’s on Netflix, and I highly recommend it–however I can’t see too many men being interested in the plot so I suggest do as I did and watch it when you have 90 minutes to yourself.

Bill Cunningham New York

Bill C

I’m only halfway through this documentary, but so far it’s entertaining, if you love New York and love the people, which I certainly do.  And it’s fun to see the Carnegie Hall studios. It’s also streaming on Netflix.

Pacific Rim

Pacific

I didn’t pick this out.  We actually paid for a 24 hr rental of this.  I fell asleep halfway through and J woke me up by turning it off because he gave up on it too.  Excruciating dialogue.  Two dimensional characters.  SNOOZE.

African Queen

African

It’s fun to catch up on classics that  now stream for free.  While this isn’t my favorite Bogart movie (compared to him and Bacall together, I’m not buying him with Hepburn) it was still really entertaining!

Reading:

The Luminaries

Luminaries

I’m about 200 pages into this 800+ pg new release.  Set in 1860’s New Zealand, a group of men try to solve the mystery of a missing wealthy man, a drugged prostitute, and a deceased hermit with a fortune in his home.  I heard it won the Man Booker Prize this year, so I had it put on hold right away at the library.  It’s so nice to get a brand new book from the library!

When I write it all out like this, what an awesome holiday weekend!  Only three more weeks until Christmas–where I get two weeks straight off!

4 thoughts on “How I spent my Thanksgiving Weekend

  1. Pingback: JUG FACE | Written in Blood

Leave a Reply

