Thanksgiving Wrapup!

I have to apologize for the lack of posting lately.  Thanksgiving came in and took over my whole week!  I love that about the holidays.  I know it’s a lot of work but I really enjoy putting together a big, elaborate dinner.  And before dinner plans, I have been quite busy with the renovations here on my place.  More about that later–let’s recap the recipes!

Main Course: Gobble Gobble Balls from The Meatball Shop via Saveur as well as in the Meatball Shop cookbook.

Buy the Meatball Shop cookbook here.

meatballs  Image via Saveur

Thanksgiving here is for three–myself, my BF, and his brother.  So there’s no real need to do a whole bird or even parts.  I’ve made these meatballs three times now and this was the best time, as I made one change.  The recipe calls for stuffing cubes, and this time I made a whole box of Trader Joe’s cornbread stuffing mix and used two cups of that, rather than two cups of dry cubes.  They were SO moist!

Sides:

Slow Cooker Green Bean Casserole from America’ s Test Kitchen
crock_pot_green_bean_casserol_2-1024x685 image via Passthesushi.com

This was fantastic too!  I’ll never make it any other way.  The mushroom soup you make is wonderful.

Mashed Potatoes and Root Vegetables from America’s Test Kitchen

potatoes image via Leite’s Culinaria

I’ve made these before but it’s been a few years.  I used turnips as my root vegetable.  The caramelization adds a ton of flavor!

Braised Sweet Potatoes from The Great Holiday Slow Cooker Book

Bruce Weinstein and Mark Scarbrough are back with another tome of a cookbook this January, but to hold fans over they’ve released a 32-recipe minibook (Bruce told me that none of the recipes in the minibook are duplicates).  For the record, I don’t know Bruce personally, but we both post on Ravelry, a knitting forum, and communicate on there.  What I love about the cookbooks is that every recipe includes instructions on how to make it in a small, medium, or large crockpot.  I made the small version of the sweet potatoes.  They were spicy and tender and very light compared to the other cream-and-butter heavy recipes on my table last night.  I’m really looking forward to January when the larger cookbook is released.

Bacon Stuffing–passed down from family

I tried my hand at my BF’s family stuffing recipe this year and wow it is good but sure to take a year or two off your life!  This was the recipe his mother made, and she is deceased now (died long before we got together, so I never met her) so I had to rely on the memories of my BF and his siblings to get it right.  It’s pretty simple–bread cubes, bacon (LOTS of it), onion, celery, seasonings, and egg.  The bacon fat and egg holds the stuffing together.  Yes, it’s a LOT of bacon fat.  But this is a once a year dish, right?  It was a good variation on stuffing, as I am used to stuffing with sausage.

Dessert: Crack Pie from Momofuku Milk Bar via Bon Appetit
crack-pieimage via Bon Appetit

This is so rich and decadent.  I mean look at the ingredients for the filling–it’s sugar, cream, eggs, and butter with a little vanilla thrown in there.  One of my favorite pies, and I’ll be bringing it to the office in a few weeks too for our holiday party there.   This is my second year making it.

And here’s the whole spread:

table

(that’s my dining room!)

This morning we had mini croissants from Trader Joe’s.  They’re in the freezer section.  They’re AMAZING.  It was the first time I’ve ever had them, and I’ll be buying them on the regular now. I’m really lucky to have had a TJ’s open up a half mile from my home this past fall!  Seriously, their croissants are like, bakery quality.

Enjoy your holiday weekend!  I have today off too (I got out 1 PM on Weds, so it’s basically like having two days off already, love how it feels like Sunday but it’s only Friday!)  I plan on refinishing my built in shelves this weekend, plus potentially do some work on my bathroom that’s in progress.  And write a follow up post to my refinishing hardwood floors post from last week!  But for now, I’ll be relaxing.

 

Leave a Reply

