Italian sausage and caramelized onion bread pudding

image

So a month back or so my BF and I ordered some italian delivery.  The two huge entrees each came with a mini italian bread loaf, about 8-9 inches long.  We didn’t even touch them since the entrees filled us up, but I didn’t want the bread to go to waste.  I froze it, and it occurred to me to make a savory bread pudding.  I defrosted one loaf  the night prior and made this recipe, which I put together myself:

8-9 in loaf french/italian bread

1.5 onions, sliced

.5 lb italian sausage

1.5 C milk

2 eggs

1/4 C sour cream (optional)

1T Mustard

Salt and pepper

fresh thyme

Preheat oven to 350.

Cube bread and spread in baking dish (an 8 or 9 in brownie pan would work.)

caramelize the onion, set aside.

brown the sausage, set aside.

While cooking the onion and sausage, combine milk through thyme in a bowl.

spread the cooked sausage and onion over the bread.

pour the bowl you prepared above over it all.

cook for about 45 minutes.

Also–just want to point out my countertops here.  They’re laminate, and they’re being replaced later this winter, because I am re-configuring the cabinet layout and they won’t fit any more.  I’m looking at Wilsonart HD or Formica 180fx or IdealEdge.  Any readers have experience with those?

One thought on “Italian sausage and caramelized onion bread pudding

Leave a Reply

