Recipe: Oven Baked Honey Mustard Chicken Wings

I am pretty strict about only buying meat from local farmers, fortunately, in the Midwest, there’s plenty of those.  I look for farmers who feed their animals on grass rather than grain and do not administer antibiotics unless ill.  Wallace Farms is one of my favorites, and I just signed up for Farmer Nick’s monthly meat deliveries, starting in November.

What this means is that foods like chicken is pretty pricey for me.  I can’t afford boneless skinless chicken breasts.  But I can get whole chickens and either cook them whole or cut them up myself.  The bones are frozen for chicken stock, and every time I cut them up i wrap up the four wing pieces tightly in plastic wrap and foil and throw them back in the freezer.  Three chickens later, I’ve got 12 pieces which is plenty for dinner for two.

I so dropped the ball and forgot to take pictures of this…but it was excellent!

-Preheat the oven to 450.

-Took 12 chicken wings and patted them dry with paper towels.  Then I seasoned with Szeged Chicken Seasoning.  Use whatever–salt and pepper works too.

-Bake for about 20 minutes, flip, 20 minutes more (Actually I think I could reduce this cooking time going forward…we’ll see next time.

-If you want to add a side dish, when you go to flip the wings, throw in a baking sheet of potato wedges for oven fries.  They’ll be done at the same time this way.

-Sauce:  Melted about a tablespoon of butter, then added equal parts, roughly, honey and dijon.  Toss the wings in this once they’re done.

I love recipes i can make in the oven with little prep!  So easy!

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Oven Baked Honey Mustard Chicken Wings

    • I would recommend checking the wings at 15 minutes per side, even though I did 20. I am pretty sure you can get away with it…I mean if not you can just bake em longer!

      This was super easy, it was a combination of a few different pinterest recipes, and way healthier than frying. The most important thing is to make sure to really pat them dry because that’ll help them crisp up while baking.

Leave a Reply

