Welcome!

Well, here’s my inaugural post!

Every sunday I plan to post about Slow Down Sundays.  Bruce Weinstein and Mark Scarbrough, the cookbook authors (I have their Cooking for Two cookbook and love it!) came up with using the slow cooker every Sunday and posting about it.  Bruce is a knitter over at Ravelry which is where I heard of it.  So today I did a stuffed pepper casserole because I had all those ingredients in the house.

1/3rd lb ground beef

1/3rd lb bulk italian sausage

half an onion, diced

2 cloves garlic, minced

about 1 C bell peppers, diced

2/3rd C basmati rice

1 20 oz can tomatoes with juice (my last can from the store!  Hopefully I canned enough this summer to get me through the year)

about 1 heaping tablespoon each worcestershire sauce and paprika

Cook til done!

I thought it was decent, but I am not sure I like the texture of rice slow cooked.  No picture….because TBH slow cooker foods can be less than gorgeous sometimes.

Leave a Reply

