Day 10:Bacon, leek, and butternut squash risotto

image

Most recipes I make because I’m trying to use up stuff in the house.  This was one of those cases and it was a HUGE success.  I’m writing this recipe minutes after “creating” it so I don’t forget what I did.

1 C Arborio rice

1 quart chicken stock (I used my own, homemade stock.  I make stock in the crock pot.  Do y’all know you can do an AMAZING chicken stock in the crockpot on low for about 8 hours?  I do it over night and wake up a bit earlier than usual to strain it)

1/4 C heavy cream

1 leek

3 strips bacon

1 butternut squash, medium sized

olive oil

honey

nutmeg

S&P

First–get the squash roasting.  Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Peel and cube your squash into bite sized pieces.  Throw them on a cookie sheet or roasting tray and drizzle with the olive oil and honey, and sprinkle with S&P and nutmeg.  Bake for 20 minutes.  Note: my risotto took over 20 minutes to make meaning the squash was done prior to the rice.  I just turned off the oven and let it sit in there til I was finished.

While it roasts, then cut your bacon into small pieces and fry on the stovetop.  Take the bacon bits off and let rest on a paper towel to crisp up.  Heat the quart of chicken stock in a saucepan.

Chop the leek and cook in the bacon grease (Did I insinuate this was healthy?  I hope not).  Add the cup of arborio rice and let it fry for a minute or so.  Then, add the stock about a cup at a time, stirring about half the time.  It’s no big sin if you don’t stir your risotto the whole damn time in my opinion.  Keep adding more stock as it soaks into the rice.

When the rice is finished, about 20-25 minutes later, add in the squash, heavy cream, and crispy bacon.  If you like parmesan, add that as well.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Day 10:Bacon, leek, and butternut squash risotto

Leave a Reply

